Outagamie County Fair since 1885

Outagamie County Fair since 1885

Seymour • Wisconsin  | Website:  https://www.outagamiecountyfair.com

The first Outagamie County Fair was held in Seymour in 1885 and was a place for local farmers to showcase their cattle and crops.  By the 1960’s, big name entertainment was the main draw as Roger Miller and Frank Sinatra performed in front of a packed grandstand.  The list of entertainers over the decodes has included The Osmonds, George Jones and Willie Nelson, but the Fair Association never lost sight of their mission.  The mission to provide a place for the youth of Outagamie County to showcase their skills in raising and showing animals, crafts, crops and products.


The times are a changing but the future for the Outagamie County Fair is not in doubt.  In fact, the future is very bright.  Each year builds on the great tradition, the Board continues to book top talent for family entertainment, and the fair generates thousands of entries to be judged from youth and adults.

Today the volunteer Fair Board is continues to strive toward insuring that the Outagamie County Fair can continue its theme of  Great Tradition, Great Family Entertainment and Great Experience for Youth.


Door County ~ Green Bay Wisconsin

Door County ~ Green Bay Wisconsin

Door County is a county in the U.S. state of Wisconsin.  Its county seat is Sturgeon Bay.

The county was created in 1851 and organized in 1861. It is named after the strait between the Door Peninsula and Washington Island. The dangerous passage, known as Death’s Door, is scattered with shipwrecks and was known to early French explorers and local Native Americans.

  • Land Area: 482.72 sq miles
  • Water Area: 1,887.11 sq miles
  • Elevation: 588 ft at Sturgeon Bay
  • Number of Lakes: 25
  • Area in Lakes: 3,254 acres (5.08 sq miles)
  • Rivers: Ahnapee, Mink
  • Major Watershed: Lake Michigan


Paleo-Indian artifacts were found at the Cardy Site – located on the Door Peninsula south of Sturgeon Bay, including Clovis points.  As of 2007, seven Clovis points have been found in the county. Artifacts from an ancient village site at Nicolet Bay Beach date to about 400 BC. This site was occupied by various cultures until about 1300 AD.

Door County’s name came from Porte des Morts (“Death’s Door”), the passage between the tip of Door Peninsula and Washington Island.  It is a common misconception that the name “Death’s Door” arose from the number of shipwrecks associated with the passage. It was instead the result of Native American tales, heard by early French explorers and published in greatly embellished form by Hjalmar Holand, about a failed raid by the Ho-Chunk (Winnebago) tribe to capture Washington Island from the rival Pottawatomie tribe in the early 1600s.

In 1905, Theodore Roosevelt recommended that the Shivering Sands area be protected. Today this area includes Whitefish Dunes, Kellner’s Fen, Shivering Sands wetland complex, and Cave Point County Park. Hjalmar Holand, an Ephraim resident, promoted Door County as a tourist destination in the first half of the 20th century. As part of a committee begun in 1927 to protect and promote historical sites, he recommended the establishment of a series of county parks.

Since then the tourism industry has grown. Although Door County has a year-round population of about 28,000, it experiences an influx of tourists each summer between Memorial Day and Labor Day, with over 2.1 million visitors per year. The majority of tourists and summer residents come from the metropolitan areas of Milwaukee, Chicago, Madison, Green Bay, and the Twin Cities, although Illinois residents are the dominant group both in Door County and further south along the eastern edge of Wisconsin.

Wrightstown, Wisconsin ~ Village on the Fox ~ The name “Wrightstown” was declared in 1854

Wrightstown, Wisconsin ~ Village on the Fox ~ The name “Wrightstown” was declared in 1854

Wrightstown is one of the oldest communities in Wisconsin. The name “Wrightstown” was declared in 1854 in honor of its founder, Hoel S. Wright, who along with Carl G. Mueller, and Charles West Day are considered early pioneers of Brown County. Charles’ parents, Otis and Elmira Day, immigrated from New York to Wisconsin in 1849.  Their family traveled across the Great Lakes from Buffalo, New York, until they reached Wrightstown in 1850.  Lucien Wright and his father Hoel sold Otis 80 acres of land to build a cabin of basswood boughs.

During the 1850s to 1860s, dense timber covered the land. This caused work for many, including the Day family. The family made 75 cents a load by making shingles by hand which were then hauled to De Pere by ox.

Charles West Day married Juliette Chase on July 3, 1860. They had seven children, but two died during infancy. Otis Day died on June 20, 1882. His wife died eight years later on May 7, 1890.

New Wrightstown village website by Fox Valley Web Design LLC:  http://wrightstown.us


wisconsin-historical-society-logoThe website of the Wisconsin Historical Society features a wealth of digital resources, including the Dictionary of Wisconsin History, with over 8,000 entries on Wisconsin people, places, things, and events; and a wide range of online exhibitions from the Wisconsin Historical Museum.